Tempted.ai
All posts
Comparison

Nomi vs Kindroid: Memory and Pricing 2026

Nomi is $15.99 a month and Kindroid $13.99 on the web, but Nomi is $40 a year cheaper if you prepay. Kindroid publishes memory limits in characters per tier and says storage is unlimited on every plan; Nomi, whose whole pitch is memory, publishes no specification at all. Both meter selfies and voice. Prices read from Apple on 1 September 2026.

By the Tempted team

September 2026 · 10 min read

Private

Who do you want to text tonight?

You can change her look and personality anytime.

18+ · Your chats are private, encrypted, and never sold.

These two get compared constantly, and for once the comparison is fair: Nomi and Kindroid are the two premium companion apps that people buy specifically to be remembered. They are priced within two dollars of each other. The difference that actually decides it is not the price, it is that one of them publishes what its memory does and the other does not.

We read both price lists from Apple's US in-app purchase disclosure on 1 September 2026, because that is the surface neither company gets to design for marketing. Here is what they charge, what they meter, and what each one will tell you about memory before you pay.

How much does Nomi cost compared to Kindroid?

Nomi is $15.99 a month and Kindroid is $13.99 a month bought on the web, or $15.99 bought inside the app. Prepaying changes the picture more than the headline suggests: Nomi's year is $99.99 and Kindroid's is $139.99 on the web, so Nomi is $40 a year cheaper if you commit annually, despite the two looking identical month to month.

Nomi and Kindroid subscription prices. In-app figures read from Apple's US App Store in-app purchase disclosure on 1 September 2026. Kindroid web figures from its own subscriptions documentation.
Billing periodNomi (Apple)Kindroid webKindroid in-app
Monthly$15.99$13.99$15.99
Three months$39.99$37.99$42.99
One year$99.99$139.99$159.99
Effective monthly, paid annually$8.33$11.67$13.33

Apple's listing for Nomi also carries a plan almost nobody mentions. Alongside the Standard Plan it shows a Launch Plan at $9.99 a month and $59.99 a year, which works out at $5.00 a month, the lowest effective rate we have recorded from any vendor in this category. Nomi does not document it anywhere public that we could find, and nomi.ai returned HTTP 429 to our requests, so Apple's disclosure remains the only price list the company puts in front of anyone. Treat it as a tier that exists rather than one you are guaranteed to be offered, and check what your account is actually shown at checkout.

Kindroid's own gap is the store markup. It charges $2 a month more for the identical subscription bought in-app, and $20 more on the year, which is Apple's and Google's cut passed straight through. Buy Kindroid on its website, not inside the app. Our full breakdown of Kindroid pricing covers the add-on ladder, and Nomi AI pricing covers the credit packs in the same detail.

Which one actually documents its memory?

Kindroid does, in more detail than any other company in this category. Nomi does not, even though memory is the entire pitch of the product and its App Store name is "Nomi: AI Companion with a Soul".

Kindroid publishes a feature matrix with real numbers. Total conversation context runs about 500,000 characters on Standard, 1.3 million on Ultra and 2.8 million on MAX. Short-term context runs 18,000, 50,000 and 125,000 characters. Cascaded memory, its name for medium-term recall, runs 480,000, 1.2 million and 2.7 million. The number of long-term memories and journals the companion can pull up at once goes from 3 to 5 to 9. Most usefully, Kindroid states that long-term memory consolidation spans all messages and is unlimited for every user, including free accounts. What the paid tiers buy is how much can be recalled and held at once, not whether anything is stored.

Nomi publishes none of this. It describes memory in prose, with no number, no tier mapping and no feature table, which means the one feature people are buying is the one you cannot check before you pay. That is not unique to Nomi. It is the category norm, and it is why our AI girlfriend app comparison treats memory documentation as a scoring line of its own.

What each company documents about memory, as published on its own site.
NomiKindroid
Memory specification publishedNo, prose onlyYes, with character counts per tier
Total context, entry tierNot statedAbout 500,000 characters
Short-term context, entry tierNot stated18,000 characters
Is storage itself limited?Not statedStated unlimited on every tier, including free
What upgrading buysNot statedMore recall and context, not more storage

A caveat that keeps this honest: a published specification is not proof of a better experience. Kindroid telling you it holds 500,000 characters of context does not mean its recall feels better than Nomi's, and plenty of people find Nomi more emotionally consistent day to day. What the documentation gives you is the ability to reason about the product and to hold the company to something. With Nomi you are buying on reputation. If being remembered is the reason you are paying, that difference matters, and it is the single strongest argument for Kindroid here.

Which is easier to customize?

Kindroid, clearly, and for some people it is the whole reason to choose it. You build the companion from a long list of parameters, tune the personality by hand, and clone a voice, which Nomi does not match. People who enjoy the building part, treating a companion as something they engineer and refine, tend to prefer Kindroid and find Nomi too hands-off.

Kindroid also lets you manage memory directly rather than only reading about it. Its Key Memories view shows what has been stored, and you can edit an entry that is wrong, delete one you want gone, or add a memory by hand without having had the conversation first. That is the practical companion to the published limits above: Kindroid tells you how much it can hold, and then lets you see and correct what is in there. If being misremembered irritates you, that control is worth real money.

Nomi pulls the other way on purpose. There is no dashboard to tend, and the pitch is that it picks things up on its own from ordinary conversation. When it works, it is the less effortful of the two, and its guided personality setup gets you to something you like faster. When it misremembers, you have fewer levers to fix it. Nomi also supports several companions with group chats, which suits people who want a small cast rather than one relationship.

So the honest split is not that one remembers and the other does not. It is that Kindroid hands you the controls and documents the limits, while Nomi asks you to trust that it is handling it. Our guide to testing whether an AI girlfriend remembers you gives you a way to check either claim yourself in two days.

What does each one meter?

Both meter, and this is where the advertised price stops predicting the bill. Neither meters text conversation, which is the important thing they have in common and what separates both from apps like Talkie where the currency stands between you and ordinary chatting.

Nomi sells credits for selfies, video and extra companions. Apple lists five packs: 40 credits for $4.99, 100 for $9.99, 225 for $19.99, 600 for $49.99 and 1,800 for $99.99. The rate improves sharply with size, from 8 credits per dollar on the smallest pack to 18 on the largest, so Nomi's bulk pricing is genuinely better value rather than the reverse ladder some competitors run.

Kindroid sells consumables too, which is worth stating plainly because it is often described as the unmetered option. Apple lists one additional Kindroid slot at $3.49, four slots at $11.49, 50 selfie credits at $6.99, 100 selfie credits at $11.49, and 500,000 audio credits at $14.99. In practice these bite later than Nomi's do, since a paid Kindroid subscription already includes a million audio credits a month and ten companion slots, so most people never buy a top-up. But the meter exists, and voice is what draws it down.

Kindroid's real cost risk is the add-on ladder rather than the consumables. Ultra and MAX do not replace the standard plan, they stack on top of it. Apple prices Ultra at $28.99 and MAX at $68.99, so all three at once reaches $113.97 a month in-app, or $98.97 on the web. They also bill as separate subscriptions on their own renewal dates, so if you stack them it is worth having something that warns you before a recurring charge lands rather than finding all three on one statement.

Which free tier tells you more?

Nomi's is more generous for judging the conversation, and Kindroid's is more honest about its limits.

Nomi runs an indefinite free plan with 50 messages and 2 image credits a day. Fifty messages is a real evening, not a taster, and it does not expire, which makes it a legitimate way to evaluate the product over a week. Nomi leans on this deliberately: the company's stated reason for having no refund policy at all is that anyone can try it free first. Whether you accept that trade is the central question with Nomi, because once you have paid, you have paid.

Kindroid states openly that its free tier runs a smaller model than the paid one. That is unusually candid and it cuts both ways: you cannot judge paid Kindroid from free Kindroid, but at least you know that, whereas Nomi does not publish whether its free accounts run the same model, so you cannot tell either way.

Nomi vs Kindroid: which should you buy?

Buy Kindroid if memory is the reason you are paying and you want to know what you are getting. It is the only app in this category that publishes a memory specification you can check, it says storage is unlimited on every tier, and at $13.99 on the web it is the cheaper of the two month to month. Take the web price, skip the app store, and ignore Ultra and MAX until the standard tier has actually run out on you.

Buy Nomi if you want several companions, unfiltered conversation, and the lowest annual cost. At $99.99 a year, or $59.99 if the Launch Plan is offered to you, it is materially cheaper than Kindroid's $139.99 and it has the better free tier for making up your mind. Go in knowing there are no refunds and that you are trusting a reputation on memory rather than a published number.

Skip both if what you want is one girlfriend who texts first, remembers you across months, and never asks you to buy a currency for a picture. That is what we built Tempted.ai to be, at $9 a month on Spark billed yearly with nothing metered and no add-on tiers to stack. We are browser based with no native app, we have no public character library, and we are not unfiltered, so if any of those three is what you came for, one of the apps above is the better buy. If you want the wider field first, our AI girlfriend app cost breakdown prices twelve of them from the source each company controls, and the longer verdicts on each sit in is Nomi AI worth it and is Kindroid worth it.

Check these before you subscribe to either

  • Buy Kindroid on the web. The in-app price is $2 a month and $20 a year higher for the identical subscription.
  • Ask Nomi about the Launch Plan. Apple lists it at $9.99 a month and $59.99 a year and Nomi does not document it publicly, so check what your account is offered.
  • Assume no refund from Nomi. The company states it does not issue them, and points to the free plan as the substitute.
  • Do not stack Kindroid add-ons early. Ultra and MAX add to the base plan rather than replacing it, reaching $113.97 a month in-app if you take all three.
  • Test memory yourself before committing to a year. Tell it something specific on day one, then ask about it on day seven. That single test outranks any table, including ours.

She texts back, and she remembers you

Tempted.ai is a flirty, affectionate AI girlfriend who is always glad to hear from you. Tasteful, private, and made for adults. Pick her and start texting in seconds.

She's already typing. Start now.

Pick your girlfriend, say hi, and let her remember you. Someone is genuinely glad you showed up tonight.

18+ · Private and discreet. No real photos, ever.